MASS Announces New Board of Directors

Veteran educators to help advance public education in Mississippi

JACKSON ― A group of veteran educators from around the state will serve the Mississippi Association of School Superintendents as its board of directors in 2021-22.

Since its founding in 1969, MASS has grown into a nationally recognized coalition that provides state-of-the-art training and mentoring programs for educators throughout Mississippi while advocating year-round for improved public schools. The association regularly evaluates the composition of its board to ensure it includes the appropriate skills, experience and perspectives necessary to improve outreach and efficacy.

“All of our new board members are devoted advocates of public education,” said Phil Burchfield, executive director for MASS. “Their leadership and experience will be key in helping guide our future operations and strategies, with the ultimate goal of ensuring that Mississippi’s public schools are equipped to provide a world-class education for all students.”

Leading the board as president is Alan Lumpkin, superintendent of the Pearl River County Public School District. He is joined at the executive level by president-elect Tony McGee, superintendent, Scott County School District; secretary Todd English, superintendent, Booneville School District; treasurer Ken Byars, superintendent, Amory School District; and past president Amy Carter, superintendent, Meridian Public School District.

District representatives are superintendents Christie Holly, Tishomingo County Special Municipal Separate School District; Irene Walton Turnage, Holly Springs School District; Gary Hannah, Canton Public School District; Miskia Davis, Sunflower County Consolidated School District; Billy Ellzey, Kosciusko School District; Josh Perkins, Enterprise School District; Jay Smith, North Pike School District; Jason Harris, Columbia School District; Wayne Rodolfich, Pascagoula-Gautier School District; and Matt Dillon, Petal School District.

At-large members include superintendents Lance Evans, New Albany School District; Michelle Bivens, Pontotoc City School District; Jessie King, Leland School District; Tyler Hansford, Union Public School District; and Lawrence Hudson, Western Line School District.

Board members will work to provide resources and services to improve the quality of public education in Mississippi. They assume their positions at a pivotal time when districts are facing multiple challenges, including guidance of public education in the wake of Covid, teacher shortages and rapidly changing technology needs.

Through its focus on advocacy, MASS has helped build legislative support to improve public schools and plans to step up those efforts in the coming year. In addition, MASS has completed work on a three-year strategic plan that includes providing exceptional professional learning to all educational leaders, creating a superintendent mentoring program, and marketing professional learning opportunities for all members.

“It’s beyond inspiring to see firsthand the impact MASS is making on public education in Mississippi and how its leaders are working to create more inclusive, connected and healthy schools for all,” said Lumpkin. “On behalf of the board of directors, we look forward to working together as well as with the entire MASS team to keep the momentum moving forward.”

The Mississippi Association of School Superintendents and the Alliance of Educational Leaders of Mississippi is a non-profit association whose membership is made up of 139 public school superintendents and more than 2,000 public school administrators. Its mission is to provide resources, advocacy, leadership, policy information, training, support, renewal, and public relations services that improve the quality of public education.




Strategic Plan

View our Superintendents Directory