Outstanding Graduates Receive Bounds Scholarships from MASS

Program honors students for leadership and community service

JACKSON ― Ten recent high school graduates from across the state are receiving $1,000 scholarships from the Mississippi Association of School Superintendents.

Named in honor of veteran educator Walter S. Bounds, the Bounds Scholarship for Excellence rewards top-performing students who excel in leadership, community service and extracurricular activities. Recipients also must meet academic requirements and be recommended by their superintendents.

“To ensure that Mississippi has strong, capable leaders to guide us into the future, we must encourage and train those leaders today,” said Dr. Phil Burchfield, MASS executive director. “The Bounds Scholarship program celebrates students who not only demonstrate a clear commitment to excellence but also seek to be responsible leaders in their careers and communities.”

Scholarship winners are Kylie Byars, Amory High School; Eizabeth Weems, Bay High School; Sam English., Booneville High School; Greggory Vowell, Columbia High School; Luke Yarbrough, Itawamba Agricultural High School; Daniel Turner, Greene County High School; Andrew Pugh, Lafayette High School; Jaymar Jackson, II, Laurel High School; Keimauri McKenzie, Northeast Jones High School; and Alyssa Kate Morgigno, Pearl High School.

The Mississippi Association of School Superintendents and the Alliance of Educational Leaders of Mississippi is a non-profit association whose membership is made up of 139 public school superintendents and more than 2,000 public school administrators. Its mission is to provide resources, advocacy, leadership, policy information, training, support, renewal, and public relations services that improve the quality of public education.




Strategic Plan

View our Superintendents Directory