Outstanding graduates receive Bounds Scholarships from mass

Program honors students for leadership and community service

JACKSON ― Ten recent high school graduates from across the state are receiving $1,000 scholarships from the Mississippi Association of School Superintendents.

 Named in honor of veteran educator Walter S. Bounds, the Bounds Scholarship for Excellence rewards top-performing students who excel in leadership, community service and extracurricular activities. Recipients also must meet academic requirements and be recommended by their superintendents.

“To ensure that Mississippi has strong, capable leaders to guide us into the future, we must encourage and train those leaders today,” said Dr. Phil Burchfield, MASS executive director. “The Bounds Scholarship program celebrates students who not only demonstrate a clear commitment to excellence but also seek to be responsible leaders in their careers and communities.”

Scholarship winners are Amis McMillan, Biloxi High School; Cassy Tigner, Hernando High School; Alvin Ray Jones Jr., Heidelberg High School; Ethan Hebert, Lawrence County High School; Jackson Dulaney, Long Beach High School; Lorin Brown, Petal High School; Kanarie Smith, Northwest Rankin High School; John Michael Foster, Senatobia High School; Anna Tindell, Mendenhall High School; and McKenna Danzey, Stone County High School.


Strategic Plan

View our Superintendents Directory